No 71 A virtuoso dialogue

Tue 18th June 2019  »  5:00 pm
Kongresshalle, Weißer Saal
Bach and Cöthen

– J. S. Bach: Sonate E-Dur, BWV 1016 – J. S. Bach: Partita d-Moll, BWV 1004 – J. S. Bach: Sonate h-Moll, BWV 1014 – J. S. Bach: Toccata d-Moll, BWV 913 – J. S. Bach: Sonate G-Dur, BWV 1019

Isabelle Faust (violin), Kristian Bezuidenhout (harpsichord − Artist in Residence)

Ticket prices: € 52,00 | 41,00
reduced: € 47,00 | 36,00

Such compliments are rare: even a quarter of a century after the death of Johann Sebastian Bach, his son Carl Philipp Emanuel still enthused about his father’s six Sonatas for Violin and Harpsichord, which he considered among his »best works«. Although they were more than 50 years old, they still sounded »excellent«, he wrote. In these works, Bach exercised the difficult art of the trio sonata in systematic fashion. We will be hearing three of the sonatas in today's concert, along with equally virtuoso solo works for violin and harpsichord.