No 84 Bach dances

Wed 19th June 2019  »  5:00 pm
Haus Leipzig
Bach and Cöthen

– J. S. Bach: Partita G-Dur, BWV 829 – J. S. Bach: Partita a-Moll, BWV 827 – J. S. Bach: Partita B-Dur, BWV 825 – J. S. Bach: Partita c-Moll, BWV 826 – J. S. Bach: Partita D-Dur, BWV 828 – J. S. Bach: Partita e-Moll, BWV 830

Sir András Schiff (piano)

Concert introduction: 4.00 pm, Haus Leipzig, Dr. Markus Zepf (in German)
The concert will last approx. 160 min.
Ticket prices: € 67,00 | 52,00 · reduced: € 60,00 | 45,00 · seats with restricted view: € 15,00

During his years as Kapellmeister in Köthen, Johann Sebastian Bach devoted great attention to keyboard music, composing »English« and »French« suites, any number of bravura pieces for harpsichord and the first part of his »Well-Tempered Clavier«. The Six Partitas were written several years later, but they also have a connection to Köthen: Bach dedicated the first partita to the Friedrich August, prince of Anhalt-Köthen, who was born in 1726.